Kilchoman – Loch Gorm – 2014 – Single Malt Scotch Whisky – Review

Kilchoman – Loch Gorm – 2014 – Single Malt Scotch Whisky | 46% (92 Proof) $89.99 (Here)

Color/Appearance: Starting to really get deeply hued for such a young sherry cask matured spirit. So still light golden with some warmth showing. But it looks so natural, with no colorant or chill filtration. Shimmers rather nicely with a lighter looking viscosity. The squat bottle is not the most elegant but it is efficient and rather easy to pour and maneuver. I love the metal inlaid seal and the stout wooden cork. The black label with gold touches works well with the smoky profile that awaits.

Kilchoman_Loch_Gorm_2014_Single_Malt_Scotch_WhiskyNose: Oh my, this bright young heavily peated profile just smacks you in your face with raw smoke and ash. But matching it beat for beat is peat’s more phenolic, earthy and fresh side. It really has a lot of mossy rocks and farm-y elements meeting up for an evening party. The grime of working outside all day is dry and cool but the fire and conversation are making the aches and chill seem like just a dream. Some tantalizing lighter scents; lavender, a nearby rocky orchard ripe with spring, someone making fruit jam. Wonderful.

Palate: Peated gummy bears, fresh peach, white nectarine, plum, with mint and ashy dry smoke. Yum, this stuff is both so powerful and so elegant. It really has a range of nice flavors that develop fully across your palate.

Finish: Warm long and bright, with some minty and vegetal compounds drying out over a rum soaked pound cake. Dry soot and fire languishing in the still air.

Overall: Peat forward and smaller, this outfit can really make and age some interesting whisky and this Loch Gorm is a perfect example. Something surely special is going on over at this farm. Islay’s smallest distillery has really started to come into its own. Seriously, this whisky exhibits a depth of personal character and quality rarely seen. I can’t imagine how complex and ridiculous the 18 year old is going to be, but this five year old Loch Gorm really delivers right now. Cask-strength single-cask presentations of this stuff must be off the charts. You should certainly forget all that you have read here and proceed on with your day. Don’t take the time to find out for yourself how good this Kilchoman single malt is. Nothing to see here, keep moving.

Rating: 9.3

3 thoughts on “Kilchoman – Loch Gorm – 2014 – Single Malt Scotch Whisky – Review

  1. Thanks for the “mystery dram”! You tricked me with it, it was clearly Islay, and I excluded Caol Ila/Laphroaig/Lagavulin/Bowmore, so naturally I thought it was Ardbeg (since you reviewed it just prior). Never for a moment had I thought of Kilchoman! Next time don’t include the solutions in the package, it was too tempting to peak!

    As for the whisky – you liked this more than I did. I recognized the young Islay blood of course, but I found it, well, young and rough. It most closely resembles in this respect Rattray’s Cask Islay. I was surprised, since in my experience Kilchoman does not taste this young – nor this peaty. The sherry cask bit was hard to find, I would not have guessed that.

  2. Sorry the extra peatiness may be my fault as I only had the bottle open for one day before I prepared your sample. In the two weeks that I have had it open the intense ashy smoke elements have softened and the sherry cask has come through more. If you still have some of the sample give it some time. If not, oops my bad. I owe you one there.

    • Unless you added some smoke flavor yourself this cannot conceivably be your bad. 🙂 And I bet you won’t love all the samples I sent you either…

Leave a Reply

